The Final Post

Sitting in the brewery, looking back at my time in India, it is hard to believe that I have spent just 6 short weeks here. I like to think that I have come a long way from the naive traveller who got to this country in early June. I have grown in many ways since being here – through my perspective, understanding, respect for others, communication skills – just not physically as somehow I managed to lose weight… While I have tried to stay conscious of how people around the world live, it is hard to really do so until you are here, to see life first hand. Though at times the trip has left me disheartened; on the whole it has also left me energized and consequently I am a huge advocate for this country and all the potential which it holds.

I have had the chance to do some traveling in the south while here: to Munnar (the tea planting district), to Kullor (to go hiking), and to Hampi (a collection of 15th century ruins). Each has left me with many memories and has opened my eyes to the diversity and size of India. I have had the chance to explore Bangalore – frequenting many of the other microbreweries and music venues, visiting the numerous temples and parks. I have had the chance to do a wide range of things at work – leading training sessions to the staff, tours to people from around the world, frequent beer tastings at work (a personal favourite), and even some consulting for the companies employee appreciation programs.

Yet the thing which truly sticks out from this trip, and what made it so phenomenal, is the various people I have met. I have met people from a variety of professions from across the globe. The Indian bar tenders at Arbor, British engineers for Rolls Royce, American salesmen, German social workers, people running windfarms, owners of tea plantations, students, and everything in-between. They have shared advice on all sorts of things; where I should eat, travel, and on carer aspirations (which fields are exciting to work in and where in the world to start). We have shared absurd memories and they will stay with me for a very long time.

Some special memories include a hospital run after living on a broken ankle for 2 months. Riding on motorbikes through the rice fields with a few German guys in Hampi. Hitting a Bangalore brunch (all you can eat and drink from 12-4) before heading to the top of the highest building in Bangalore to chat about the future of the US and UK while watching the sun set. Finding a stray dog sleeping outside my door on the 2nd floor of the apartment building. Leading my first training and realizing how boring I must have been (don’t worry I managed to change that quickly). Helping lift a motorbike off a man who had just got in a major accident (don’t drink and drive kids). Doing an 18km hike. Visiting the mookambike temple (where I had to be shirtless wearing only a lungi – picture a long white skirt). My first night bus, reaching the second highest peak in southern India, and walking through the clubs and tea fields which my grandfather once walked through 65 years prior. All very special times which I hope to never forget.

Me at the main temple in Hampi

Me at the main temple in Hampi

Stone Chariot, Hampi

Stone Chariot, Hampi

Gates to the temple in Hampi

Gates to the temple in Hampi

City Market

City Market

City Market Flowers

City Market Flowers

So I will finish by thanking everyone for helping make this an amazing experience and for those of you who have supported me along the way (and even bothered to read this rather unusual blog).
Cheers,

Oli.

About oliverharfield

University of Michigan student spending the summer working at Arbor Brewing Company in Bangalore, India

Posted on July 29, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi Oli! I’ve loved reading about your experience in southern India. The culture sounds so different from where I stayed in northern India. Did most people speak English there? It sounds like you experienced mostly city life… did you get the chance to see an rural life and did it ever surprise you?

    Like

  2. oliverharfield

    Thank you! Yes from the conversations I have had with the servers and bar tenders, North and South are very different which in tern is also very different from the North-Eastern states. All the interactions at the Brewery were in English and I was fine getting around the city with English as well except for a few interesting interactions with autos. And I actually managed to squeeze in 3 weekend trips out of the city to Hampi, Munnar, and Kollur which were mainly small villages out in the country side where I did some trekking. This was more of the traditional Indian lifestyle which I was expecting to see.

    Like

Leave a comment